Fantabulousness Fridays

Alright, here’s the deal.  I’ve never been a style icon.  Never been the popular girl, either.  I’ve been near the top of the class, and some might say I was even a nerd in school, but I was never the smartest, super accomplished kid.   And I was alright with all this.  But things have taken a dive and it’s time to do something about it.

 Lil Man will be a year old soon, and I’m just now starting to come out of the new mommy fog.  And it ain’t pretty y’all. 

I had almost a year of pregnancy, morning sickness, and pregnancy brain, which was then followed by a year of being covered in baby slobber, not being able to wear shoes that tie or buckle (because then I have to tie them or buckle them while carrying a wiggly baby in and out of his classroom because shoes are not allowed in there), in which my main concerns in choosing my wardrobe have been:

  1. Can I nurse in this?
  2. Will it hide stains?
  3. Is it comfortable?

I have lost a fair amount of weight (which is the only reason I heart morning sickness), gained it back, plus a little bit during the pregnancy, and then lost it again, so now I’m thinner, but I still have a long way to go, and I desperately need to tone up.

 Throw some hideously utilitarian nursing bras into the equation, and I guarantee you that I can have the horniest person on the planet shuddering in disgust and pledging celibacy for all of eternity.  Except my amazing hubby.  Despite everything, he still finds me attractive. (Excuse me while I swoon.)

Oh, and by the way, I agreed to be a bridesmaid at my best friend’s wedding in March.  And the rest of the wedding party are avid runners and stick thin, which I will NEVER be.  But it’s a good thing that I’m in her wedding, because that’s enough time to get looking good, but not enough to look stunning, and I don’t need to be stunning at my BFF’s wedding.  It’s her day.  But she deserves a pretty backdrop, and I don’t want to look like a whale jumping out of the beautiful beach setting she’s chosen for her nuptials.

It’s not just appearances, though.  My brain is turning to mush, and I can’t blame it on late nights or pregnancy anymore.  I need to do something for myself, learn more, use my brain again.

Enter Fantabulousness Fridays, my weekly accountability check-in to make sure I continue to work on my health, personal growth (learning, etc.), and personal style.  It’s about making sure I don’t lose myself in this whirlwind of a life that I have.  I need to slow down and take time to be selfish and put myself first, or at least near the top of the list.  Hell, I don’t even think I’m on my list of priorities at all.  Each Friday, I’ll post about what I’ve done the previous week, my difficulties and my triumphs. 

Anyone want to go in on this with me?

About aliciamariel

wife, mama, crafter, traveler. always want to learn more.
This entry was posted in Fantabulousness Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

