Fantabulous Fail

This being the week before Christmas, and me working at a church, and a snow day that shut everyone down thrown in for good measure, the sheer fact that I didn’t quit my job amidst the insanity, and that I managed to get almost everything that I needed to do shows that I have matured a lot.  All the insanity didn’t allow a lot of time for me to focus on becoming a better person, but I do have a couple of things waiting in the wings:

  1. My style color palette is here!

    I actually squealed ‘Yippee!’ and did a little happy dance at the mailbox when I saw the envelope.  I was holding Lil Man at the time.  He looked utterly confused but amused.  The color palette is part of the whole style makeover thing I’m doing (here & here). I don’t know why, but those 40 pieces of cardboard clamped together are so incredibly exciting to me.I guess it’s because I’m looking for a shortcut.  Now, if I’m wondering if a neutral top is going to make me shine or make me look like a cadaver, I can just whip out my palette and see.  If I want to find a color that will give my eyes an extra bit of sparkle, again, I whip out my palette.  Most of all, it narrows down the choices for me.  I know what to look for.  Hopefully, in time, I’ll develop automatic blinders to everything that doesn’t look good on me and just zero in on what does. 
  2. I got a dSLR For Dummies book.  
    Yeah, I’m a dummy.  A few weeks ago, I finally got a dSLR camera.  I want a camera that can keep up with my kid, and dSLR seemed the way to go.  Until I turned it on.  Then I was lost.  The huge instruction manual (I swear I had college textbooks smaller than this thing) was of no help.  Then I remembered that those ‘Dummies’ books can be pretty useful, and since I can’t start a photography class anytime soon, I figured I’d give it a shot.  Shot…get it? Shoot pictures…no?  okay, never mind…Anyway…I got the Dummies book for my camera – the Nikon D5000.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to carve out a bit of time to give my brain a workout.

See? This week was total lame city as far as my Fantabulousness Fridays go.  It just didn’t happen, and honestly, with Christmas next week, and me having to do three weeks worth of work (and then some) in three and a half days, it might not happen next week either.  On the upside, I did manage to stay away from the drive throughs once again, but that doesn’t count for much because the work room has been full of delicious temptation, and I have zero willpower when it comes to sweets.  And man, can those church ladies cook up some sweet stuff.

About aliciamariel

wife, mama, crafter, traveler. always want to learn more.
This entry was posted in Brain Power, Fantabulousness Fridays, I Feel Pretty. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

