Priorities

What are your priorities in life?  What is it that you hold close to your heart?  It seems that lately I’ve been led to re-evaluate (perhaps evaluate for the first time) exactly what it is that fills my heart.  Charts have been drawn, quizzes have been taken, lots of private reflection and discussion with the Hubs have taken place.

 And this is what I’ve come up with:

  1. The Hubs and Lil Man:  The two men in my life.  Without them, I wouldn’t have a life. Their smiles fill my soul and provide a constant source of happiness and love in my life.  I want to be the best I can be for them.  I want to do whatever it takes to keep a happy, loving relationship with my husband.  I want us to be the couple at the nursing home who sneaks around and pulls pranks on all the other people.  Together.  And I want to be the kind of mom that will raise a good man.  I want to find the balance between being a parent that sets solid boundaries and expectations, a cheerleader that inspires his dreams and aspirations, and a confidant that he can turn to with whatever questions and concerns he may have.
  2. Family and Friends: To me they are one and the same.  What is important to me are the people in my life that make a difference.  I don’t think that just because I’m related to someone they have to be more important to me.  My mom’s aunt who lives in Texas is not going to be nearly as important to me as my co-worker who took me under her wing when I first moved to NC and taught me how to be southern.
  3. Learning: This has been important to me for as long as I can remember.  I was a bit of a nerd in school, taking the hard classes and actually enjoying them.  I also signed up for almost every activity known to man.  Ballet, JROTC, swimming, water polo, Girl Scouts, Key Club, beauty pageants…I can’t even remember everything I was in.  And it was more than a way to stay busy.  I loved learning and filling up my mind with all sorts of knowledge.  I think it’s important to learn as much as you can if you want to truly understand the world and be able to relate to people.
  4. Travel: Going along with knowing how to relate to people, I think travel is the perfect way to learn.  Seeing different countries and cultures really puts your life into perspective. There’s a whole world out there full of so many experiences, and I can’t imagine not seeing as much of it as I can.  Not only does travel help teach me about the world, it also brings me closer to my husband and hopefully my son (I haven’t traveled all that much with him yet).  Being in the middle of a country and not knowing how to get around makes you depend on each other and as a team.  It’s nice to have that bit of a relationship boot camp every once in a while.  And if it happens to be in Spain or Morocco, that’s just a bonus as far as I’m concerned.
  5. Creativity: This is cliché and not creative at all, but a mind is a terrible thing to waste.  When I say creativity, I don’t mean painting and sewing and photography (although that is a big part of it for me).  I mean being creative in the approach to life.  How else can I achieve something?  What can I do to add a little bit of spark to my life?  How can I see this from a different perspective?
  6. Doing good: I think that working in the community, doing something honorable, or making some sort of difference is important.  Stepping outside yourself and serving others, even if it’s through your job and you’re getting paid for it, is so fulfilling.  When I worked for a PR agency, I had a hospital client and a large department store calendar, among others.  The department store was fun.  I got to work on sparkly, dazzly projects, meet celebrities, and all sorts of good stuff.  But the client that I was really drawn to was the hospital client.  I got to help set up community events, educate people about being healthy, or spotlight medical innovation that truly saved lives.  It wasn’t swanky, sexy work, but I felt like I was making a difference, and in the end, that won out over the glam client.

So I have my priorities.  What I don’t know is where to take it.  All the articles I read say to build your life in a way that focuses on your priorities, but how?

About aliciamariel

wife, mama, crafter, traveler. always want to learn more.
This entry was posted in Fantabulousness Fridays, Soul Searching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

