Survival has been my success.

Okay, I have to confess: I haven’t been all that good these past couple of weeks that the hubs has been away.  I started off ok, going to bed at a decent time, eating fairly healthily, but as the days ticked by, so did my energy and so did my resolve.  I ended up having crostini and a couple of pieces of cheese for dinner. Twice.  And those are the nights I had dinner. 

But I kept Lil Man healthy and happy and I managed to stay afloat at work.  I even managed a couple of nights of going to bed before midnight.  And I made sure to spend some quality time with Lil Man every day, even when I could barely stay awake.  The little bit of time that I get with him is something that I truly treasure, and it invigorates me for the coming day.

This whole husband-traveling-for-weeks is rough.  I should be used to it.  After all, he began traveling for work seven months after the I Do’s and hasn’t stopped since, except for four months (three before we had the baby, and one after he was born).  It’s just part of life for us. Yet somehow, it’s so different now.  I miss him more than ever.  Not just because he’s extra hands in the chaos that is our life, but because he’s become my partner.  I guess it’s true what they say: absence makes the heart grow fonder.

But I did have some successes this week.  I kept fast food down to a minimum, and haven’t had any desserts, except for the pound cake and strawberries we had at work for one of our co-workers birthdays.  This is a big step forward for me to not totally ‘treat’ myself the whole time the hubs is away.  I treated myself by crafting a little bit, but then my sewing machine broke.  And yesterday, just because I do think that I deserve a little reward, I got myself this from this etsy shop:

 

And also because the 80’s rule.

About aliciamariel

wife, mama, crafter, traveler. always want to learn more.
This entry was posted in Fantabulousness Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

